RED SCHOOL HOUSE
The Red Schoolhouse was built in 1874 in Franklin Township. Ever since it was built it has been painted red and officially known as "The Red School". The very first teacher was Katie McShane who started on August 15, 1874. Class was held in the building until 1967, making it the last rural school in Allamakee County to close. Despite having closed the originally cupboard with the students names remain, also much of their artwork and poems. We also have many photos throughout the years of the school including students and teachers. The Red School is now located at the Allamakee County Fair Grounds in Waukon, Iowa.
GJEFLE LOG CABIN
Step back to the year 1872 and enter the “Gjefle” Log Cabin. Built in 1870 in Paint Creek Township by Syver Gjefle and his father. The cabin is furnished with many period artifacts. On the main floor you will find “Grandma’s Room”, the Main Room and the Summer Kitchen. The Gjefle family history is also available. The cabin is conveniently located on the Museum grounds.